Since performing as the opening act on the Main Stage at Oxegen last summer, Malahide pop rock quartet Director have hit the ground running. The band - Michael Moloney (vocals, guitars, keyboards), Eoin Aherne (guitars, backing vocals), Shay Lawlor (drums) and Rowan Averill (bass) - released their self-produced debut album, 'We Thrive on Big Cities' at the start of October 2006 and, within the first weeks of release, it had reached Number Two in the Irish album charts. Recorded in Grouse Lodge studios in Co Westmeath with house engineer Stefano Sofia, the album resonates with echoes of American indie bands, from The Feelies to Mission Of Burma, Television, Pere Ubu and The Pixies. They released their third single, 'Leave It To Me', in early January, also taking the awards for Most Promising Act and Best Debut Album in the 2007 Hotpress Readers' Poll. That's January covered. What's going to happen in the next 11 months?

No items found.